Clan System

A clan is a group of people belonging to a particular Tribe or House to identify families and territories. There are five Wet'suwet'en clans:

  • Gil_seyhu (Big Frog)
  • Laksilyu (Small Frog)
  • Gitdumden (Wolf/Bear)
  • Laksamshu (Fireweed)
  • Tsayu (Beaver Clan)

In the feast hall they operate as four Clans with Laksamshu and Tsayu clans working together.  See link below for Chief's org chart.